A Response to Life and Death

Grace and peace to you, today.

I went to a funeral of a colleague yesterday.  He had been retired for many years.  I didn’t know him well but for us pastors that doesn’t matter so much.  When one of “our own” dies, many of us do all we can to attend the funeral as a show of support and respect to the family for the ministry done by a faithful servant.  I have not been very faithful in attending these services, but as I get older, they have become more important to me.  And, the fact of the matter is, the older I get, the more I have known and ministered with those who are dying.  It is one of those cycles of life.

At the service there was great hymn singing.  There were great stories told of this faithful pastor, father and grandfather.  There was laughter and rejoicing in the hope that he had in Jesus and of his life continuing in eternity.  I was glad that I was a member of this congregation.

In my scripture reading this morning I read Psalm 9.  It starts this way:  “I will praise you, Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.  I will be glad and rejoice in you;  I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High.”  I will praise, I will tell, I will be glad, I will sing.

We did all that yesterday at a funeral and it was good.  And it reminded me that God is good and full of grace and mercy…and that my labor is not in vain.

I want to encourage you today to look for something in your life that you can give praise to God for and tell someone about it, be glad and sing.  I am sure that you will brighten your world a bit and be more aware of God’s presence in your life.

Have a great day and God bless you richly!

d.

About walkthegoodway

follow jesus. love my family. serve others.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

