Lent 25: Daily Bread

One of the things I have always loved to eat is bread. Probably goes back to when I was a child and my mother would bake bread every Saturday morning. There still is nothing like hot, fresh baked bread with a slab of butter on it. I love all kinds of bread. We often have a baguette with a meal. Pumpernickel is my favorite bread. I am blessed that Lisa continues to bake bread…a simple artisan recipe that requires no kneading but makes good, hearty loaves.

In the ancient Roman world bread was considered the “staff of life”.

Remember Jesus said, “I am the bread of life.”

Bread is so basic to our lives. Jesus says pray…”Give us each day our daily bread.” (Luke 11:3)

This is a simple prayer, isn’t it? It recognizes our dependence upon God for the basics of life.

I might summarize it like this. Faith in God. Food to eat. Every day.

When it comes right down to it, do we need more?

About walkthegoodway

follow jesus. love my family. serve others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

